I can taste the way

The music is,

I can see the words it says.

I can see it coming from and entering

Their heads.

 

I can read their souls

And find out where they’ve been.

I can speak the words to make

Them feel as though

They went back again.

 

They can close their eyes

And listen as I speak

Into their hearts and minds and

Souls; their interests I can peak.

And if I chose to make them mine,

Into them I could creep.

 

I can bring them prosperity,

I can leech from them their joy

I can make them disrobe inhibitions,

Even the most coy.

Yes, they can hardly choose

If they want to be my toy.

 

See, I can do these things

To humankind

That would leave your jaw agape.

I can show you doorways

So your soul can find escape.

 

And who’s to say if

I’m evil, or good?

It’s relative, to me.

As long as I

Am understood,

Your priests will disagree.

 

One of the more selfish poems I have in my collection. I am working on not using terms like “me,” “I,” “myself,” etc…

But I liked this one and would love to hear what you think of it. Please comment any thoughts on the piece!